Faculty Awards

For many years, students have honored members of the HST faculty for their teaching and mentoring through several awards, including the Irving M. London Teaching Award and the Thomas A. McMahon Mentoring Award. In 2009, we added an award established by an alumnus of HST's MD program--the Seidman Prize for MD Research Mentorship.

Award recipients will be announced at the HST Spring Dinner Seminar in spring 2018.

Deadline: Nominations are due Monday, February 26, 2018.

Since its inception in 1970, HST has owed much of its success to the wise and visionary leadership of Irving M. London, MD. The brilliance of our students, the dedication of our faculty, and the humor and good will that pervade our culture, all reflect the spirit of the man who has guided the Division as director, mentor and friend. This award was established in 1986, when Dr. London stepped down as director, to honor him and to recognize teaching faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the training of HST students.


The McMahon Award, established in 1999, is presented annually to the person who, through the warmth of his/her personality, inspires and nurtures HST students in their scientific and personal growth, and through honest advice and generosity to all students and colleagues sets an admirable example of excellence in mentoring.

This prize was established in 2009 by an alumnus of HST's MD program in honor of Drs. Christine and Jonathan Seidman for their inspirational mentorship. Christine Edry Seidman, MD, is the Thomas W. Smith Professor of Medicine and Genetics at Harvard Medical School (HMS) and the Brigham and Women's Hospital, and Jonathan G. Seidman, PhD, is the Henrietta B. and Frederick H. Bugher Foundation Professor of Genetics at HMS. The prize is designed to acknowledge a faculty member for outstanding research mentorship of an HST MD student.