Arup Chakraborty elected to National Academy of Medicine

Arup K. Chakraborty, the Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering and founding director of MIT’s Institute for Medical Engineering and Science (IMES), has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) in recognition of his distinguished contributions to medicine and health.

Chakraborty, a professor of physics, chemistry, and biological engineering, was one of 70 new members and 10 international members announced recently at the annual meeting of the academy. Membership in the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service. 

“I am honored to be elected to the National Academy of Medicine,” Chakraborty says.

As of this year’s elections, there are only 21 individuals in the United States who have achieved the trifeca of being members of the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. Chakraborty joins fellow IMES core faculty members Jim Collins and Emery Brown and associate IMES member Robert Langer in sharing the distinction of being the only four members of the MIT faculty with membership in all three branches of the U.S. National Academies. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering for completely different bodies of work.

Monday, October 16, 2017