Martha Gray Prizes for Excellence In Research Given to Students at HST Forum

The “Martha Gray Prizes for Excellence in Research" were named to honor former MIT director Martha Gray.  Under Dr. Gray's leadership, HST's faculty, graduate programs and community outreach grew—underscoring her focus on developing connections among individuals. 

Her passion for bringing together the diverse, yet interconnected, parts of the HST universe is part of her abiding legacy, and bears fruit in the breadth of HST student research.

In the context of an impressive array of student research, the 2014 Martha Gray Prize Winners selected at the Forum were:

Bioinformatics and Integrative Genomics
Michael S. Rooney, “The Mutational Landscape of Immune-Infiltrated Tumors”    

Physiology and Systems Biology
Jared Mayers, “Elevated circulating branched chain amino acids are an early event in pancreatic adenocarcinoma development”

Imaging and Optics
Sheldon J.J. Kwok, “Multiphoton photoconvertible probe for in situ labeling of circulating cells”

Biomedical Devices
Andrew Warren, “Point-of-care diagnostics for cancer using synthetic urinary biomarkers and paper microfluidics”

Cell and Molecular Biology
Priya Srikanth, “Identifying critical functions of DISC1 disrupted in major mental illness”

Regenerative Medicine
Steven Castleberry, “Self-Assembled Wound Dressings Silence MMP-9 and Improve Diabetic Wound Healing In Vivo”

Pictured left to right: Michael Rooney, Andrew Warren, Priya Srikanth, Sheldon J.J. Kwok and Steven Castleberry (not pictured - Jared Mayers).
Photo by David Barron

Friday, April 11, 2014